Sick & Tired

Standard

The title of this post I mean very literally. Today I woke up to find myself not feeling well at all, and decided to go to Urgent Care to get myself checked out. I don’t get sick often, but when I do, it’s usually pretty bad. This was confirmed today when I was diagnosed with both an upper respiratory infection and inflamed allergies. Yay!

I was prescribed the Z pack for my infection, and Claritin and an OTC nasal spray for my allergies. Needless to say, I did not do much of anything at all today. Both the sickness and the medication completely wiped me out and I spent the entire day on the couch and napping on and off (uncomfortably I might add.) I finally woke up about 7 PM and decided I needed to stay awake for at least 4 hours so I could get some sleep tonight.

Another lovely side effect of my sickness is that nothing sounds good to eat – at least, nothing I currently have stocked in my kitchen. I decided to hop on Pinterest and browse my Delicious board until something stood out to me. What I picked was super easy to whip up and will be warm when it gets out of the oven so I cannot wait to take a bite.

This recipe is originally from Gimme Some Oven (her recipes are great!)

Honey Beer Bread

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. honey
  • 1 bottle (12 ounces) beer (I used Sam Adams Cherry Wheat)
  • 4 tbsp. (half stick) butter, melted (you can double this, which I opted to)

Preheat your oven to 350° F. Grease a 9″ x 5″ x 3″ inch loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Stir the beer and honey into the dry ingredients until just mixed. (Ali from Gimme Some Oven recommends popping your honey in the microwave for a few seconds beforehand to make it easier to stir in, and this works!)

Pour half the melted butter into the loaf pan. Then spoon the batter into the pan, and pour the rest of the butter on top of the batter.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, until top is golden brown and a toothpick/knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

2 responses »

    • There was just a hint of cherry in the bread, but it was really good. I tried 3 different slices – one with butter, one with jam, and one with honey. They were all pretty good, but I think I liked the honey the best.

      In fact, I would like to try the recipe again with more honey and/or a honey wheat beer.

Leave a Reply

