A Nice Change of Sleepery

Standard

Two weeks ago I made the decision that I wanted a new bed set – comforter, sheets, pillowcases, the works.

The only caveat I had was I couldn’t get something with too different of a color scheme from my current decor in my room. (A new bed set is one thing, but I definitely don’t have the funds to be revamping my whole bedroom!)

I looked around on some of my favorite stores’ websites, like Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, and Meijer, and finally came across a set that I really liked the look of.

The website did not have my mattress size but after visiting the brick and mortar store, I found it! I snatched it up and went home to change my bed into its new covers.

It is really too bad that no one was around to film this. Not only did I not realize how heavy my full-sized mattress really is, but my kitten Colby wanted to make the process as difficult as possible, getting under every sheet I laid down. Plus, it happened to be extremely muggy that day and I was scatterbrained and decided to just open the windows instead of putting the air on. Needless to say, I showered immediately after putting it all together.

Well, here’s the final product!

Image

My Dad also made me a headboard (as seen in the photo). He and my Mom just redid their dining room, and the wood happens to be remnants of their dining room wall. Convenient for me, and now I have a little piece of the house I grew up in 🙂

You’ll also notice on the left that I have a wall decal. I am allowed to paint in my apartment complex but we have to paint back, and instead of spending money on something I’d need to paint back white, I opted for the wall decals. They stick great, and remove just as well. I really like them as an inexpensive way to spruce up a room and give it a little bit of personal touch. I also have one in my kitchen behind my sink as a back splash. (My kitchen has a distinct theme which I’ll share more of in another post!)

What is your bedroom’s color theme? What’s your favorite part of your bedroom?

One response »

  1. I love the new bedding. I think it’s so cool to have a piece of the house you grew up in as your own! It makes it that much more special to have.

Leave a Reply

