My First 5K

Standard

This Saturday I will be running in my very first 5K race. Let me preface this blog post by telling you the truth – I am not a long-distance runner. I have exercise-induced asthma, I get bored, I prefer running on a treadmill, and my knee tends to bother me.

So I’m sure you’re wondering why I would ever put myself through a 5K.

Well, the truth is, I couldn’t pass this one up. I am running in the Warrior Dash, and I figured if I was to ever do a race this would be the one. It has many obstacles to break up the run and would keep me from being bored, and I got a friend to do it with me.

Image

This year has been one of many firsts for me (first “big girl” job, first time skydiving, first year living on my own, first time adopting a pet, and so on) so I wanted to be sure I got in another one before the year is up.

Have you ever ran a 5K (or a marathon for that matter)? I’d love to hear your advice for a first timer. Is it okay to stop for water or breaks, or is that embarrassing? What is a good time to shoot for? Should I bring my own water? What do you do with your stuff (like your purse, car keys, etc.?)

2 responses »

  1. I have never participated in a 5k, but I would think that bringing your own water would be smart in case you are in need and the water stations are not close by. Also, I know friends who have participated in Warrior Dash and have mentioned they wished they would have brought a spare set of clothes for the ride home so they wouldn’t have gotten their car all muddy! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

