Cheesy Nacho Casserole

Standard

Yes, you read that right – I made a casserole out of tortilla chips. I pinned a recipe a while back that I’ve been meaning to try out, but I kept putting it off because of the heat apocalypse that Michigan has been put through in the last month. I did not want to be warming up my apartment with any oven.

I finally got an excuse to try out the recipe. Social Media Day was last month and a few local businesses have joined the fun by hosting their own SMD. Last week my brother and I attended a SMD event at Garden Fresh Gourmet in Ferndale, MI. (If you’ve never tried Garden Fresh, you really should indulge your taste buds, like right now. Seriously, go to your local grocery store and get some of their Sweet Onion Salsa). Garden Fresh is the most award-winning salsa in the US and they also have pretty amazing hummus, dips, and new to me – chips!

As we left the event last week, everyone received door prizes – a bag of Garden Fresh Tortilla Chips and a chip clip (I always need those). I chose the Nacho Cheese flavor because I had this recipe in mind, and my brother grabbed the Blue Corn since he’s into being healthy.

After spending my entire Sunday running errands, cleaning my dirtier than I realized apartment, and reading my book, I finally got around to starting the recipe at 8:30 PM. (This is what happens when you don’t have clocks in your apartment.)

This is what you will need for your Cheesy Nacho Casserole, including cooked shredded chicken. Mine was boiling at the time I took this photo.

Image

Since I love cheese so much, I made sure to basically double the amount that the recipe called for. You can always do more or less to what it calls, it just depends on your personal preference.

Cheesy Nacho Casserole

Cheesy Nacho Casserole

This ooey gooey concoction is currently bubbling away in my oven. I cannot wait until it gets out so I can try some.

And thankfully, when the chip crunching went awry and spilled onto the floor, I had a little helper on the ready to clean it up for me.

He loves tortilla chips!

Now what you were really waiting for – the recipe (as seen on Jam Hands)

Cheesy Nacho Casserole

  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (or more if you love cheese like me)
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 packet taco seasoning (you can add more if you want more flavor)
  • Bag of nacho cheese flavored tortilla chips

Pre-heat oven to 350°F.

In a mixing bowl, combine all ingredients except chips.

In a greased casserole dish, put a layer of crushed tortilla chips, enough to cover the bottom of the dish so that you can’t see it. You want the chips to be smaller than originally but not really crushed. Think of breaking them into fours.

Spread a layer of the chicken mixture on top of the chips base. Repeat once more, ending with a layer of chicken mixture. Top with more shredded cheese and super crunched up chips. Cover and bake for 30-35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

