Venison Meatballs

Standard

I am Polish, and my mom makes pretty amazing meatballs. Tonight, I wanted meatballs. But, since I no longer live with or near my parents, I am on my own for dinner.

Truthfully, I wanted meatballs on Thursday, but things got crazy and hectic between then and today so I didn’t get a chance to make them until today when I had the time.

My mom makes her meatballs with a mix of pork and veal usually. I didn’t have either, but I did have a pound of venison hamburger. I also wanted to bake mine (my mom fries then bakes hers) so I decided to search Pinterest for a recipe. I stumbled across one here but did make my own changes to it.

ImageMeatballs

  • 1 lb. hamburger
  • 1 cup of Italian bread crumbs
  • 1 tbsp. mustard
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp. garlic
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • salt & pepper to taste

Sauce

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp. mustard
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

Mix meat, bread crumbs, mustard, eggs, milk, garlic, soy sauce, ketchup, and salt & pepper together in a large bowl. Form in 20-25 large meatballs. Bake in a 9 x 12 in. pan or casserole dish at 350° for 40-45 minutes. While baking, mix together ingredients for sauce. After time is up, pour over meatballs. Put back in oven for about 5-10 minutes, until bubbly.

Enjoy! What’s your favorite recipe that your mom makes?

Leave a Reply

