Turkey, Bacon, and Cheese Panini

Standard

When I went grocery shopping Friday night, I picked up my normal stuff – meat, dairy, veggies, and stuff to make pizza. I make pizza a LOT. Well, today I was bored of pizza, but I was stuck with a can of refrigerated pizza crust. So I decided to visit Pillsbury’s website to find out what else I could make with pizza crust, and I found a GREAT sandwich recipe! I just finished eating it and I already cannot wait for tomorrow’s lunch when I can have leftovers. Using pizza crust for the panini was a really great change to normal white bread, and the apricot preserves gave the sandwich a sweetness to balance with the saltiness from the bacon and turkey.

My kitchen is not stocked with everything needed for this recipe per Pillsbury’s website, so I had to improv a bit. If you want to read the original recipe, you can do so here.

Turkey, Bacon, and Cheese Panini

  • 1 can (13.8 oz) Pillsbury® refrigerated thin pizza crust
  • 8 slices Turkey bacon (or more if you want some to snack on while making!)
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup apricot vinaigrette
  • 4 slices of turkey breast (from deli)
  • 4 slices of Kraft American cheese

Directions

Heat oven to 375°F. Spray 15 x 10 x 1-inch pan with a no-stick cooking spray. Unroll pizza crust dough in pan; press dough to edges of pan. Bake about 9 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, in 10-inch skillet, cook bacon over medium heat, turning once, until crisp. Remove bacon from skillet; drain on paper towels.

In small bowl, make apricot spread by stirring mayonnaise and vinaigrette until well mixed. Set aside.

Cut pizza crust in half to make 2 rectangles. Remove rectangles from pan; spread half of the apricot spread evenly over each rectangle. Top 1 rectangle evenly with turkey, bacon and cheese. Add other rectangle, spread side down. Cut large sandwich in half crosswise; cut each in half diagonally to make 4 sandwiches.

Heat 12-inch skillet over medium heat until hot. Place 2 sandwiches in skillet. Place smaller skillet or saucepan on sandwiches to flatten slightly; keep skillet on sandwiches while cooking. Cook about 2 to 3 minutes on each side or until cheese is melted and bread is golden brown. Repeat with remaining two sandwiches.

Yum!

What is your go-to sandwich recipe?

Leave a Reply

