Bacon and Cheddar Bambi Burgers

Standard

This is one of my favorite recipes. I found it on AllRecipes.com and just made a few edits to it (per my tastebuds!) Recipes with more than 5-7 ingredients tend to scare me, but this one is pretty simple to follow and I have all of the ingredients in my kitchen, which is awesome!

Every other time I have made these hamburgers, it has been with beef. However, my dad dropped off a lot of venison to me a few weeks ago (Thanks, Dad!) so I decided to try it with some venison burger.

First, I let the venison thaw out all day. I work from 9 to 5 (sometimes 6) so I put it out in the morning before I leave for work and then usually get to making dinner around 7:00, so just under 12 hours.

Then, I added in some cheese, real bacon bits, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and soy sauce.

After all the ingredients were added to my bowl, I mixed it all together, and formed four patties with the mixture. Don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty 😉

After pouring a tiny amount of oil on my skillet, I put heat on medium. The recipe calls for high heat, but I have a gas stove and have noticed that my meats burn quickly when on high heat versus medium on the stove top.

I cook only for myself, so I only eat two (sometimes just one) hamburgers with this recipe. The remaining patties I put away in the fridge for another meal.

The final product!

You can put pretty much anything on these burgers. Some people put pepper jack cheese, but I am not into anything spicy so I steer clear of that. I just added American cheese to both my patties, and put BBQ sauce on one of them to do some taste testing. The one with BBQ sauce was better, in my opinion. The venison turned out to be a great alternative to beef, too! The only thing I noticed is that the outside of the venison cooked a lot faster (slightly burned even) than the beef normally does.

If you don’t like frying your hamburgers on the stove top, grilling is an obvious different option. I am not allowed to grill where I live (weird city ordinance) but I do have a George Foreman that I use occasionally. You can also crack an egg, mix it up, coat the burgers in it, and then cover the patties with Italian bread crumbs, baking them in the oven for about 25 minutes at 350°.

For those who need the recipe run down, here it is

Bacon Cheddar Hamburgers

  • 1 pound ground beef (or in my case, venison)
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese (I did Colby Jack mix)
  • 2 tablespoons prepared horseradish (I do not like horseradish, so I nix this part and do 1 tbsp. of soy sauce instead)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder (I up this to 1 tsp. because I lo-o-ove garlic!)
  • 1/2 cup real bacon bits (The Oscar Mayer brand in this case)
  • 4 hamburger buns (I prefer wheat over white)

What’s your favorite burger recipe?

One response »

Leave a Reply

