A Warm Welcome Back

Standard

Hello again to my blogging friends! I know that I have been MIA for much too long (has it really been a month?!), but I must tell you that the break was much needed. There have been many changes and developments in my life these past few weeks, among them in my health, relationships with friends and families, and my job. 23 has proven to have just as tough of a start that 22 had, but I’m taking each day one at a time and trying to stay optimistic.

One of my favorite things to do when I’m feeling down or stressed out is to bake some comfort food. For as long as I can remember, one of my most favorite dishes is a casserole that my mom made for my brothers and me. Whenever I tell friends or coworkers about this recipe, most of them turn up their noses at the thought of combining some of these ingredients, so I really must implore all of you reading this to at least try it before passing it by! It is truly one of those warming, feel good, comfort foods that make you think of home. (The best part is that this recipe only takes 6 ingredients!)

I have never actually learned the real name of this dish so I refer to it only as Mom’s Casserole.

Yum!

Mom’s Casserole

  • 1 box Kraft macaroni & cheese
  • 10 oz. frozen broccoli florets
  • 1 ring of Polish or smoked sausage
  • 1 can cream of celery soup
  • 1/4 cup milk (for mac & cheese)
  • 4 tbsp. butter (for mac & cheese)

Make macaroni & cheese according to package. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350° F and chop sausage into round pieces. Run broccoli under hot water to thaw, and cut into smaller pieces if necessary. Combine mac & cheese, sausage, broccoli, and cream of celery into casserole dish, mixing well. Bake at least 30 minutes, or until bubbly.

And I must point out that you don’t want to nix on adding the cream of celery soup to this dish. It is really important in keeping the casserole from drying out while baking. My mom can attest to forgetting it once or twice and having to throw the whole thing out.

Cream of Celery Soup

This is my Mom's Casserole recipe

Do you have a go to comfort food that reminds you of your mom, dad, grandma, or anyone special?

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

