Sunday Dinner – Ranch Chicken Taco Muffins

Standard

Ranch Chicken Taco Muffins

There’s something about Sunday that just beckons you to be lazy and stay in your pajamas all day. I almost always gladly oblige, and today was no exception. So I knew I needed to pick a recipe for dinner that didn’t require much prep or effort to make. I decided to make one of my favorite meals, Taco Muffins, but I wanted to use chicken instead of beef so I could use my crockpot to cook the chicken.

I found a recipe for Ranch Chicken Tacos and based on the comments, altered the ingredient amounts to make enough for just me (and maybe one more meal) and made everything in the crockpot versus the stove top. It was really easy and honestly I mostly guessed at my amounts since I didn’t want to dirty any dishes like measuring cups (because that would mean I would have to do dishes, and that doesn’t fit in my day today.)

The taco muffin cups were probably what actually took the longest to do, but I enjoy them so much more than just tortillas wrapped up that I didn’t mind doing it. Plus, I got to use a margarita glass and eat all of the trimmings! You can read a little more on how to make muffin cups here.

Ranch Chicken Tacos

  • 1/2 packet Ranch seasoning
  • 1/2 packet taco seasoning
  • two frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 8 oz. chicken broth (or bullion cubes in water, which is what I did)
  • 1/2 cup ranch dressing

Pour all of your ingredients (except the ranch dressing) into the crockpot. Cook on high for 3 to 3 1/2 hours, depending on your crockpot’s heat intensity. When time is up, shred the chicken with a fork. Add in ranch dressing and mix well, covering shredded chicken. Turn heat on low and let simmer about 10 minutes.

That’s it! The chicken was so moist and basically fell apart when I shredded it in the crock. You could eat these in soft shells, hard shells, on nachos, on tostadas – pretty much anything. I baked my tortilla cups in a muffin pan in the oven at 350Β° for about 10 minutes to get them to the desired crunchiness I wanted.

Then I layered in my chicken, some shredded Mexican blend cheese, real bacon bits, a bit more ranch, and sour cream. Yum!

What did you make for dinner today?

One response »

Leave a Reply

